Memories of 新世紀エヴァンゲリオン, or the Gospel of A New Century – part 1

nge1

I think you already know what I’m referring to.

Never knew that it was the literal translation of Shin Seiki Evangerion, more popularly known as Neon Genesis Evangelion. I checked it while typing this review, and it dawned on me that the literal translation makes more sense to me, and definitely in tune with the religious and pyschological elements it purportedly incorporates into the anime.

I am not ashamed to say that this was the first time that I’ll be seeing this anime ever since it was released in 1995. It arrived in our country, dubbed in our native language, in 1998. I was a third grader then. I still have the hangover from Magic Knight Rayearth, I love it to fucking bits, and after the initial airing, it had a single round of replay for both first and second season when they decided to pull the plug on it, and replaced it with NGE. I was furious. Totally furious. And I decided to ignore the anime well enough until now.

Which was kinda weird to me, or maybe you can just attribute to childhood foolishness. I mean, I was only 8 years old then.

Growing up with Sailor Moon (and Dragon Ball Z, these two are the most famous anime in our country that time), I was more into Sailor senshis and shonen action. The fascination for weird, unfathomable, or just plainly confusing and philosophical anime didn’t grow on me that time yet. I think it started to manifest itself after watching Gundam Wing (I was in fifth grade then) and its issues on war, as well as Vision of Escaflowne (I was in high school I think) and its themes of fate and how people are affected by it.

Most people watch Gundam Wing for the cute boys (of course I did too), but I was fascinated with the use of people who are barely teenagers to fight the war. With Escaflowne, it was one of the not-so popular anime during the 7:30PM timeslot back then. Aside from Pokemon, it’s the only anime shown in English in our country that time. And I guess the children back then were not so enamored with the characters’ uber-pointy noses. Lol.

Over the past few years I’ve seen ErgoProxy, Texhnolyze, Serial Experiments Lain, Psycho Pass, Paranoia Agent, and other similarly-themed anime, of which I never claimed to truly grasp the ideas they were trying to convey. I tried, I swear. But most of these need a second (or third) viewing to fully understand. To add another anime worthy of this list, I finally decided to make amends with this anime.

Due to my stubbornness in ignoring the anime for years, it never dawned on me that it seems like NGE was not as famous here as the other anime I mentioned. Or comared to Saber Marionette. Or The Slayers. I know it was famous overseas, in Japan, but I never Googled it before, never seen even a trailer of it, no, nothing. Despite me knowing at least the names of the protagonists, that they were named after warships and the story’s religious and philosophical shizz (and thanks to Tumblr, the existence of KawoShin fandom), but I never knew the story of it in its entirety. Even the Wikipedia search I made for the translation of the title only prompted me to read only the introduction. So I am seeing this anime with fresh eyes. Totally fresh.

As of writing, there’s only 4 episodes left to watch. I’ll just finish it and we’ll go from there.

One thought on “Memories of 新世紀エヴァンゲリオン, or the Gospel of A New Century – part 1

  1. Pingback: Memories of 新世紀エヴァンゲリオン, or the Gospel of A New Century – part 2 | The Hopeless Procrastinator

Leave a Reply

