Surprise, surprise

It’s 2am today and I’m not yet done cleaning my emails and managing my subscriptions. But I found a surprise in one of my mails, a list of songs I listened way back 2012 (a list of my 2012 VL credits attached to boot). The titles are intriguing enough, which for sure the me today would understand why the 2012 me saved it way back for future reference.

Which made me wonder, what was I thinking that time I first listened to the songs? What feelings did these songs roused in me?

These two were somber, melancholic. Gorgeous and haunting, as one commenter puts it.

This one’s beat is kinda funky, and I liked it. I can now remember being intrigued by the cyberpunk-ish image (it’s just audio) and the story it tries to tell me.

two ships

Now I remember why. I had this post-rock fever years ago. Every night I’d listen to Mogwai, Sigur Ros, God is an Astronaut, Tides from Nebula, Caspian, Mono, etc. There’s something with the genre that captivated me. Let’s say that it’s like poetry. I may not be able to understand exactly what the words/melody meant, but the feelings they invoke are quite clear.

We’ll now the fever’s subsided, I don’t listen to post-rock that much these days, but those feelings are still with me. As much as I wanted to listen to them again as often as I could, too bad the office environment can be quite noisy, so listening to these artists made it more difficult. I guess I’ll just listen to them while I’m at home.

Leave a Reply

