Spend money on books, not food

I’m so happy I remembered my promise of updating this blog as often as I could. It’s one of my resolutions in 2015 that I will definitely accomplish no matter what. So here I am again, typing nonsensical things for the sake of updating. Haha. Just kidding.

I want to say that I went to the local thrift bookstore yesterday. What caught my eye was 1) Bonfire of the Vanities (Tom Wolfe), and 2) Detective (Arthur Hailey).

Now, I’ve been reading nice reviews about Tom Wolfe, and I’m interested in knowing why the novel was titled as such (like his other work–The Electric Kool Aid Acid Test–the title is so intriguing for me). So I’m thinking of trying his books sometime in the future. But what really pulled me in is Arthur Hailey’s Detective.

I’ve been a fan ever since I’ve read his fast-paced action novel Hotel, thanks to Reader’s Digest Condensed Editions (which they retitled as Hotel St. Gregory). It’s a story about the everyday life of the manager of a small, classic-styled, independently-owned hotel on the verge of being absorbed by the nearby commercial conglomerate-owned hotel. Adding up to the suspense is an inside-job theft amongst the rich customer’s suites, a customer collapsing due to malfunctioning heater in his room, a party/orgy gone wild, a business mogul and his cutesy flavor-of-the-month staying in the hotel, and an elevator accident.

His works are old titles, around 1980s-1990s. But when I finished reading Hotel, it was awesome. It still feels so refreshing and new. I admit it’s written in a way that you’re like watching a staple American series, fast-paced, action-packed, suspenseful, with romance sandwiched in between. Regardless, I vowed to buy all his books from that day on. Later on I discovered The Final Diagnosis. It’s about a hospital administrator running a crappy hospital and how he managed to overcome all daily hazards of being a doctor. There’s threat of being removed from his post due to hospital politics, a misdiagnosis resulting to the death of a baby, an unsure diagnosis of a cancerous tumor (which can lead to the patient’s leg to be amputated), and an epidemic inside the hospital canteen. It also included a detailed description on how they amputated a leg–very graphic. It’s just amazing that even with differing locations for the two novels, he wrote it in such as way that you will believe him that he worked as a doctor and a hotel manager before he ventured on writing. The details are sooo..

I was able to find The Evening News, and now I have Detective.

detective

aw yiss.

I have qualms on whether I will buy the Detective or not, since I cannot remember for the life of me if I already have it. So just to be sure, I placed back Tom Wolfe on the shelf and happily placed Arthur Hailey to the counter.

When I got home, I almost threw the book.

There it was, on the corner on one of the shelves–I already have a copy of the Detective!!!

*sobs*

*sobs*

So I went back to the bookstore today and asked if I could replace it with another one and just pay the difference. I explained what happened, and they allowed a replacement. I spent my sweet time poring over the shelves to find a good book. But of course, this time I made sure I’d get Tom Wolfe. Luckily I still know where to find him. 🙂

got you now!

got you now! *evil laugh*

Then as I was about to pay, I saw another intriguing book. It’s Crude World: The Violent Twilight of Oil by Peter Maass. Of course I picked it up right away, only to find out it was already reserved for someone. Boohoo. So I went back to the shelves to find another copy. Too bad there isn’t.

NOOOOOO! don't leave me!!!!!

NOOOOOO! don’t leave me!!!!!

So, in the end, I got a new book (again), and now I’m really broke. Dangerously broke. But I’m happy. 😀

Leave a Reply

